Hey, do you know the Six stages of critical thinking development?

Six stages of critical thinking development

Hey, today we will discuss a very interesting and surprising topic about thinking. That is six stages of Critical Thinking Development. 

This sounds so normal. Isn’t it. But you are surprised when you know the whole thing. We have already discussed in our previous article the role of thinking. This article is part of it. Some don’t even have the role of thinking in their life. How their thinking drove their act. 

Research from critical thinking tools book, 

Development in thinking is a gradual process requiring plateaus of learning and just plain hard work. It is not possible to become an excellent thinker by simply taking a beginning course. Changing one’s habits of thought is a long-range project, happening over years, not weeks or months. 

But before knowing how to develop thinking, it’s highly essential to know the stages of thinking development. Which stage you are exiting you. What’s your level of thinking development and which stage is your destination? 

So here are the six stages of thinking development.

Stage 1

 The Unreflective Thinker ( are unaware of significant problems in our thinking)

Stage 2

The Challenged Thinker ( become aware of problems in our thinking)

Stage 3

The Beginning Thinker ( try to improve, but without regular practice)

Stage 4

The Practicing Thinker (recognize the necessity of regular practice)

Stage 5

The Advanced Thinker ( advance in accordance with our practice)

Stage 6

The Master Thinker (skilled and insightful thinking becomes second nature)

Hope you understand and realize which stage you are in now. But there is a chance to improve your thinking ability. If you want to think more deeply about a specific thinking stage, stay tuned with chatshala. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)